House of Ruth

Board Transitions and Elections

On December 6, 2017, new House of Ruth Board President Diane Lewis (pictured left) ran her first board meeting, and the first order of business was to honor outgoing chair and long-time board member Pamela Pinkett (pictured below). “Serving on a board can be hard work,” Lewis said, “especially when the organization hits a bump in the road, like an executive director search. When that happened at House of Ruth, Pamela was the one who jumped in and got us back where we need to be.” Pinkett was also recognized by Executive Director Sandra Jackson, who said, “As Dr. Martin Luther King said, ‘The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.’ I believe this fits for women, too, and Pamela stood strongly on behalf of House of Ruth these past four years as board president.” After receiving a plaque, flowers and a cake of thank you, Pinkett said, “I’ve taken pleasure in seeing the organization progress.”

Ms. Lewis has been elected to a two-year term, with Anne Zummo Malone serving as Vice Chair and Darryl Christmon as Treasurer. New board members include Monica Brame, Monica Beckham, and Julie Shroyer, each of whom were elected to serve a three-year term.